Back to Back Issues Page
Kindred Connections, Issue #006 -- "D" is for Dad
June 05, 2009

In this newsletter

Editor’s note (That’s ME!)

Heritage Makers news

Recent website additions

A Short Read – "D" is for Dad

Share the love


Editor’s note

grandma's casket

{Some of what I've been up to...}


My mom's side of the family had an improptu family reunion of sorts a couple of weeks ago. My grandma, who had been unwell and gradually declining for many months, passed away in her sleep. She and Grandpa had 7 children and Grandma left 36 grandchildren, 112 great grandchildren and 7 great-great grandchildren. As you can imagine, it was quite the gathering for her funeral! It feels strange that an entire generation has slipped away.

School gets out next week and then our family will officially be on summer vacation, which includes at least one family reunion, maybe more. Are you ready for YOUR family reunion??

In case you need a little extra planning help, do I have the deal for you! The e-book version of "My Family Reunion Planner", regularly priced at $11.95, is ON SALE for just $4.95 for the next 5 days!! This is a killer deal available ONLY to e-zine subscribers and for a very limited time. Simply enter the code "secretsale" when you check out.

(And don't forget to order those t-shirts!)

As always, I welcome your comments and feedback - simply reply to this email. Enjoy the e-zine!


Heritage Makers

After several months of reading, research, interviews and collecting pictures, I finally completed my most amazing Heritage Makers project ever. It's called "My Roots" and briefly describes me, my parents, grandparents and great grandparents.

Compiling this book has been an absolutely amazing experience for me! I have thoroughly enjoyed reading the various personal histories and documents over the last several months that have introduced me to my ancestors. One thing is abundantly clear: life is EASY these days compared to the physical hardships and amount of work that used to be commonplace. My parents are amazing, I feel blessed that I can remember my grandparents and the lessons they taught me and I am grateful to my great grandparents for making the sacrifices they did for their future posterity.

If you're interested in taking a closer look, you can view it here:

http://www.heritagemakers.com/?event=projectBrowse&projectId=d17df7c2-b743-4663-9076-ee7af1070c1b&productId=9&projectSponsor=342967

This project is one of Heritage Maker's many free templates. Sign up for your own account at www.MyLifeMyHeritage.com and receive additional, exclusive family reunion project templates. Interested in free project credits?? Ask me for the details!

June's online workshops - which are free and open to anyone - will focus on quick Father's Day, Family Reunions and Sports ideas. Register by following the links:

Tuesday, June 9
9 AM Pacific, 10 AM Mountain, 11 AM Central, 12 Noon Eastern

Wednesday, June 10
7 PM Pacific, 8 PM Mountain, 9 PM Central, 10 PM Eastern

Tuesday, June 16
10 AM Pacific, 11 AM Mountain, 12 Noon Central, 1 PM Eastern

Tuesday, June 16
5 PM Pacific, 6 PM Mountain, 7 PM Central, 8 PM Eastern


New additions to the website

Heritage Makers Project Gallery

View Heritage Makers projects created by others and share your own projects.

Stat Cards

Once a year, I make up these cards about my kids for them to send to their cousins. It's a fun way to stay in touch and distribute an annual picture.

Family Reunion Songs

Family reunion songs are songs about family that can be used in many ways to positively influence mood and atmosphere. Which family reunion mp3 is your favorite?
http://www.family-reunion-success.com/family-reunion-songs.html

New Affiliate

Have you been wondering how you'll keep the kids entertained at the family reunion this summer? I'm so excited to introduce you to my latest affiliate partnership: www.Treasure-Adventure.com. They offer treasure hunt party games for all ages. And they're quick and easy to set up. All you have to do is print and then play. Click here to view more details




A Short Read

"D" is for Dad
by Lydia Stucki

Where would we be without our dads? They add balance to our families and teach us lessons we wouldn't learn anywhere else. Like how to start a campfire, the importance of honesty, not to litter, and, yes, dads even teach us that "there are some things you just don't tell Mom."

I'm pretty sure my own dad taught me how to read. I say "pretty sure" because he's a quite and subtle man and does things without drawing attention to himself. All I know is that he read great bedtime stories when I was a kid. And then one day I realized that he was no longer the one doing the reading - I was. The shift was so subtle that I didn't even notice.

My father-in-law taught me that you make the best choice you can with the knowledge you have at the time you need to make the decision. If you do the best you can, that's really all you can do. And there's no reason to second- guess yourself down the road. What wonderful words of wisdom!

My husband has taught me that I need to have faith in myself, hope for the future and believe in the miracle of love. He's an amazing and patient man! He wrestles with our boys, irons his own shirts, encourages me to fly, and I love him for it. My life wouldn't be the same without him.

But what am I saying? My life wouldn't be the same without any of my dads. Your life wouldn't be the same without the dads in your life either. We all need our dads.




I wish you all the best,

Lydia
www.Family-Reunion-Success.com
{Add meaning. Make memories.}


Share the love

Do you know someone who would be interested in reading this email? If so, please help me share the love and forward it to them.

Are you reading this email but haven’t yet subscribed? Don’t delay! Subscribe to Kindred Connections and receive practical ideas and suggestions delivered straight to your inbox each month.




Back to Back Issues Page